Home O&M Instrumentation & Controls

Instrumentation & Controls

drawing of Leipheim remote controlled plant

Siemens Energy building remote-controlled 300 MW gas-fired plant in Leipheim

Siemens Energy will build a new gas-fired power plant which will be controlled digitally and remotely in Bavaria, requiring only minimal personnel on-site. LEAG signed...

EY survey of utility execs: Industry, workforce not up to full digital speed yet

The power generation and grid sector must endure and embrace forced change with challenges from both inside and outside the companies including cybersecurity threats,...

DOE head Granholm warns cyber criminals could shut down U.S. power grid

WASHINGTON (AP) — Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm earlier this week called for more public-private cooperation on cyber defenses and said U.S. adversaries already are capable of...
Domo de San Pedro geothermal plant

Mexico’s Domo de San Pedro geothermal plant using Mitsubishi digital tools

A geothermal power plant in Mexico is installing Mitsubishi Power’s digital solution to increase performance efficiency and operations as the steam potential changes over...

If 25% of US utilities downloaded the malicious SolarWinds software, could the grid go...

By Jennifer Runyon, Clarion Events Content Director According to the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), about 25% of its 1500 registered entities — comprised...

POWERGRID webcast: Customer Care: The New Reality is a Merged Reality

SPONSORS: DATE: April 14, 2021 at 2 PM EDT / 1 PM CDT / 11 AM PDT / 7 PM GMT DURATION:1 Hour. Certificate of Attendance (CEU) will...

Micatu-ZPryme survey: Utilities ready for renewables, maybe unready for challenges they bring

Disruption may be the buzz word for the electric power industry these days, but dissonance also comes to mind. new survey of leaders at...

Reliance Bangladesh signs GE to provide CC gas turbines, O&M for 718-MW plant

General Electric (GE) will provide maintenance and digital solutions for a 718-MW Bangladeshi combined cycle power plant which will run the company’s natural gas-fired...

Carbon-capture firm Akers pursuing projects with Siemens, Honeywell & Doosan Babcock

By Rod Walton, Power Engineering and POWERGEN+ Content Director A company focused purely on carbon capture technologies has signed deals with three major energy firms...

The future grid wavelength: Migrating SDH to Internet Protocol

By Dominique Verhulst, Global Energy Practice Leader, Nokia The longevity of Plesiochronous Digital Hierarchy/Synchronous Digital Hierarchy (PDH/SDH) communications networks in the utility industry is remarkable. Used...

Featured

Industry News