NRC nominees move on to full Senate vote

NRC proposes amended annual fees regulations for FY 2016

Two nominees for seats on the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission must receive confirmation from the full Senate.

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee voted 11-6 for Stephen Burns and 11-7 for Jeffery Baran to move on to the full Senate for confirmation. Burns would replace Commissioner George Apostolakis, whose term ends June 30, 2019. Burns recently served as head of legal affairs with the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) and is also a former NRC general counsel, according to the Washington Examiner.

Baran will serve out the remaining term of former Commissioner William Magwood IV, which expires June 30, 2015. Magwood left the position to become the director-general of the NEA. Baran was recently appointed to Democratic staff director for energy and environment with the House Energy and Commerce Committee and was a a top aide to retiring Rep. Henry Waxman.

Subscribe to Nuclear Power International magazine