Coal, New Projects

East Kentucky Power Cooperative seeks 200 MW of new capacity

East Kentucky Power Cooperative (EKPC) said May 16 that it is soliciting proposals for up to 200 MW of additional electric-generating resources to replace coal-fired plant capacity being deactivated as a result of federal emissions rules.

EKPC is seeking proposals for dispatchable resources fueled primarily by natural gas. The cooperative said it is contacting selected bidders to respond to the solicitation. EKPC will consider power purchase agreements as well as the purchase of new or existing generation facilities. Proposals are due by June 12.

In April, EKPC announced plans to deactivate four units at its Dale Station in Clark County, Ky. The coal units have a total capacity of 196 MW. None of the units meets the provisions of the federal Mercury and Air Toxics Standards, which go into effect in April 2015. EKPC is closing Dale Units 1 and 2 immediately. Beginning in April 2015, Dale Units 3 and 4 will be conditioned for indefinite storage.

EKPC has retained The Brattle Group as its independent procurement manager to analyze and evaluate proposals.

While EKPC said it is not pursuing renewable proposals as part of this solicitation, the cooperative is an owner-member of the National Renewables Cooperative Association (NRCO) and participates in requests for proposals issued by NRCO.

EKPC provides power through coal-fueled plants located in Mason, Clark and Pulaski counties; natural gas-fueled peaking units in Clark County; and landfill-gas-to-energy plants in Boone, Laurel, Greenup, Hardin, Mason and Pendleton counties. EKPC is owned by 16 electric distribution co-ops located in Central and Eastern Kentucky.

This article was republished with permission from GenerationHub.