Senate names Interior’s new deputy secretary

In a unanimous vote, the U.S. Senate appointed Michael L. Connor as the next deputy secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior, making him the agency’s second-highest ranking official after Sally Jewell.

President Obama nominated Connor for the position in July 2013, following Sally Jewell’s appointment to Secretary of the Interior in April.

Connor served as commissioner of the Bureau of Reclamation since May 2009, overseeing 58 power plants, including the 2,078-MW Hoover and 6,809-MW Grand Coulee hydropower projects.

Previously, Connor served as legal counsel to the U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.

Connor replaces David J. Hayes, who resigned after four years in the position.