Macfarlane nominated to five year term with the NRC

President Barack Obama nominated Nuclear Regulatory Commission Chairman Allison Macfarlane to a new, five-year term, according to the Huffington Post.

Macfarlane became chairman in 2012 after the previous leader, Greg Jaczko, announced his resignation in May. She was initially named to a one-year term that expires in June, the article said.

The Nuclear Energy Institute, the lobbying and advocacy arm of the U.S. nuclear industry, praised the president’s decision to reappointment Macfarlane to the top NRC post.

“In her brief tenure as NRC chairman, Allison Macfarlane has achieved notable progress in returning a climate of collegiality within the commission,” said NEI CEO Marvni Fertel. “The nuclear energy industry commends her for this and supports the president’s effort in seeing the chairman continue in her leadership role.”

The Senate must approve the nomination.

Subscribe to Nuclear Power International magazine