Russia to join OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

An exchange of letters took place between Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Secretary-General Angel Gurría, First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Andrey Denisov, and Deputy Director-General of Rosatom Nikolay Spasskiy on May 23 to formalize the accession of the Russian Federation to the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) effective as of January 1, 2013. Russia will become the 31st member country of the NEA.

“With Russia, the NEA will have additional strength when it comes to nuclear energy, nuclear safety, waste management or economics,” said OECD Secretary-General, Angel Gurría.

Russia has the fourth largest civilian nuclear program in the world after the U.S., France and Japan. Currently, around 18 percent of the country’s electricity is produced by 33 nuclear reactors. Russia is steadily moving towards an expanded role of nuclear energy, with 11 reactors under construction and plans for nearly doubling output by 2020.

The NEA is a specialized agency within the OECD, an intergovernmental organization of industrialized countries based in Paris, France. The mission of the NEA is to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international cooperation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

Subscribe to Nuclear Power International magazine