Coal, Gas

Personnel and Promotions

Issue 10 and Volume 108.

Rick Bowen has joined Peabody Energy as corporate senior vice president and president of generation, responsible for Peabody’s generation activities, including project and business development for planned electric generating projects in Illinois, Kentucky and New Mexico.

Jack Fusco has been named CEO of GC Power Acquisition, which is purchasing Texas Genco Holdings. Fusco has served as an exclusive advisor to Texas Pacific and was previously president and CEO of Orion Power Holdings.

Wood Group Gas Turbine Services has named Frank Avery president of its operations & maintenance business. He was previously executive vice president. Stuart Broadly has been named managing director and president of Wood Group’s Light Industrial Turbines business, with responsibility for facilities in the UK, US, Venezuela and UAE.

Kvaerner Power has named John Spaziani general manager, project operations. He was previously regional director for Acres International and for 31 years served in numerous general management and engineering positions with Babcock & Wilcox.

Thomas King has been elected executive vice president and chief of utility operations for Pacific Gas and Electric Company. He had been senior vice president and chief of utility operations since November 2003.

Steven Specker has been elected president and CEO of EPRI, replacing Kurt Yeager, who plans to retire. Before joining EPRI, Specker spent 30 years at General Electric, most recently as vice president of global marketing for GE Energy in Atlanta.

Jonathan Barr has joined ADA-ES as vice president of sales. He will lead ADA-ES sales effort in the rapidly developing mercury emission control market.

Donaldson Company has named Ronald Lacy general manager of its Gas Turbine Systems business unit, which specializes in air inlet filtration systems for gas turbines and large rotating equipment.

Encorp has named Mike Cruse chief technology officer. Cruse was co-founder and chief technology officer of Envenergy, which joined forces with Encorp in April.

Darrell Bevelhymer, president and CEO of the business development group of independent power producer Tenaska, has announced his retirement effective January 1. He will be succeeded by David Fiorelli, currently the group’s vice president responsible for new business development.

Richard Gill, executive vice president and chairman of the executive committee of The Shaw Group, has been elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the Nuclear Energy Institute.

M. Michele Burns has been appointed chief restructuring officer of Mirant. She will retain her role as Mirant’s executive vice president and CFO.

Ron Walter, Calpine’s executive vice president for development, will retire at the end of this year.

Robert Lutz has been named vice president of product management and chief technology officer of Pantellos, supplier of supply chain and electronic marketplace solutions to the energy industry.