Nuclear, O&M, Reactors

NEI’s Ralph Andersen receives the highest radiation protection award of 2003

WASHINGTON, D.C., Jan. 16, 2004 — Ralph Andersen, chief health physicist for the Nuclear Energy Institute, was named the 2003 Radiation Protection Professional of the Year by the North American Technical Centre of the Information System on Occupational Exposure (NATC ISOE).

The organization presented the award during its 2004 North American ISOE ALARA Symposium in Orlando, Fla.

Andersen was chosen for this annual award by a group of his peers–about 130 radiation protection managers at U.S. nuclear power plants–for his outstanding leadership in radiation safety.

“It is truly an honor for Ralph to be recognized by his North American peers for his global leadership,” said David Miller, NATC regional director.

“The kind of experience and expertise that Ralph brings to the field of radiation protection and the industry makes the importance of sharing nuclear experience internationally that much more valuable,” said Carl Lindvall, ISOE chair and health physics manager at the Barseback nuclear power plant in Sweden. “More than 90 percent of the nuclear industry worldwide–430 reactor sites in 27 countries–utilize this electronic network to exchange information on occupational radiation experience and exposure to manage and reduce radiation levels to as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA).”

In accepting the award, Andersen said, “I am deeply moved and honored to be selected by the NATC Board as the radiation protection professional of the year for 2003. I am privileged to hold a unique position at NEI that allows me to encourage and help facilitate the efforts of our many fine radiation protection leaders and professionals to advance the practice of radiation safety in the nuclear energy industry. In that regard, I am pleased to accept this award on their behalf as an emblem of our collective accomplishments and success.”

“I’ve known and worked with Ralph for over 25 years,” said Richard Warnock, NATC ISOE board chair and project manager at the San Onofre nuclear power plant in California. “His receipt of this award is well-deserved.”

The symposium, co-sponsored by NATC ISOE and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development-Nuclear Energy Agency (OECD-NEA), was attended by more than 100 representatives from the United States, Japan, Sweden, Switzerland, Finland, Spain, Slovenia, Canada and Mexico. NATC, located at the University of Illinois, is one of four technical centers that administer the ISOE program. The other centers are located in Paris, Tokyo and Vienna.

Andersen made a presentation at the symposium entitled “Creating the Future of Radiation Safety at Nuclear Power Plants.”