LADWP Science Bowl theme is “America Built on Science”

LOS ANGELES, Feb. 6, 2003 — With the 2003 theme, “America Built On Science,” the 11th Annual LADWP Science Bowl, the most successful regional high school competition in the U.S. Department of Energy National Science Bowl program, will be held Saturday, Feb. 22 from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. at the L.A. Department of Water and Power downtown headquarters, 111 N. Hope St. The public is welcome to attend.

A total of 42 teams from 25 public and private high schools throughout the city of Los Angeles are expected to participate this year. Last year North Hollywood High School won the LADWP Science Bowl for the fifth consecutive year and placed sixth in the National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C.

North Hollywood’s success follows in the path of four national titles previously won by LADWP regional championship teams. Van Nuys High School captured the first title by a Los Angeles school in 1995, followed by Venice High School in 1996 and 1997 and then North Hollywood’s 2001 team. All three schools are part of the Los Angeles Unified School District. No other school district, city, region or state has won more than two national titles. Also local teams advanced to the “final four” at the national event for seven consecutive years between 1995 and 2001.

“We are indeed proud that the LADWP Science Bowl has grown to become an important annual event attracting some of the city’s most talented and hardworking students. Science Bowl provides an opportunity for our local science students to show what they know. And it is a most enjoyable and exciting experience for everyone involved,” said Heidi Hiraoka, chair of the Science Bowl Volunteer Steering Committee.

Hiraoka added that the LADWP Science Bowl has grown from 16 teams and 80 students in 1993 to 42 teams and more than 200 students in 2003, almost a three-fold increase since the program began in Los Angeles. The program encourages participation by students from all parts of the city and from all backgrounds. She added that the program has attained such high esteem that colleges look to a student’s success at the event as a hallmark of achievement.

Winning participating team members, she said, at regional and national levels have gone on to attend some of the most competitive colleges and universities in the nation including Harvard University, Yale University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, California Institute of Technology, University of California, Berkeley, Columbia University, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and Stanford University.

Science Bowl is a fast-paced game-show style competition in which two teams of four students, with an alternate, answer toss-up questions from a moderator. Individual students buzz in. The student that buzzes in the fastest with the correct answer earns four points for his or her team. Then that team has the exclusive right to answer the bonus question worth 10 points.

The LADWP Science Bowl buzzer competition is in two parts. In the morning from 8:30 a.m. to approximately 12:30 p.m., teams will be competing in six divisions or leagues of seven teams each. The top two or three schools from each division will advance to the double elimination tournament in the afternoon. The final round to determine the champion is expected to start about 4:30 p.m.

Based on the format of the General Electric College Bowl television program, Science Bowl questions cover such technical fields as physics, chemistry, astronomy, earth and physical science, calculus, trigonometry, technology and current events in math, science and computer fields.

The winning team members in the LADWP Science Bowl will each receive the $1,000 Hitachi Scholarship. Their school will also receive a trophy and $2,000 toward the purchase of science equipment or materials. Additional prizes for second to fourth place teams range from $1,250 to $1,750 in equipment or materials for the schools. Students will receive individual prizes including medallions and gift cards. In addition, teams that place second through fourth are eligible to participate in a three-day inspection visit to the Eastern Sierras and Owens Valley, the main source of the city’s water supply.

The winning team will travel to Washington, D.C. May 1-5 to represent the city and the regional competition at the National Science Bowl. The grand prize this year is a trip to Sydney, Australia or London, England to attend international science schools. Other prizes for the second to fourth place national finishers include weeklong trips to U.S. Department of Energy labs and facilities.

In addition to the “buzzer competition,” schools in the Science Bowl also have an opportunity to participate in the “side competition,” a hands-on event that is different every year. A separate group of prizes are provided to students competing in teams that are successful in this event.

This year more than 11,000 students in 1,800 high schools from 40 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Indian Nations will participate in one of the 66 regional competitions. Since the National Science Bowl program began in 1991, more than 70,000 students have participated. The Jet Propulsion Laboratory also sponsors a regional competition in Southern California for schools outside the city of Los Angeles and Los Angeles Unified School District.

The LADWP Science Bowl is made possible by 100 volunteers, mainly employees and their families. In addition to the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power and its Green LA program, other sponsors include Hitachi Ltd., Razorfish, Inc., The Gas Company, Water and Power Community Credit Union and Sodexho Management Services.

The Science Bowl is one of several LADWP educational partnership programs including the Cool Schools Tree Planting Program; Youth Service Academy; Green LA Student Poster Contest; Teacher Workshop Series and adopted schools. Additional information about LADWP education programs can be received by logging on to or

LADWP Science Bowl Participating Schools

Arshag Dickranian Armenian School
Louisville High School
Birmingham High School
Marshall High School
Bravo Medical Magnet High School
Milken Community High School
Demirdjian High School
North Hollywood High School
El Camino Real High School
Pilibos Armenian High School
Fairfax High School
Reseda High School
Francis Polytechnic High School
San Pedro High School
Gardena High School
Sherman Oaks Center for
Granada High School
Enriched Studies
Grant High School
Van Nuys High School
Holy Martyrs Ferrahian High School
Venice High School
King/Drew Medical Magnet High School
Washington College Prep High School
Lincoln High School