Clean Coal Technologies

Personnel & Promotions

Issue 4 and Volume 103.

Harry Shimp has been hired as Amoco/Enron Solar president and CEO.

Jeffrey Tranen has been named Sithe Northeast COO and president.

BP Amoco Global Power Corp. has announced several appointments, including Zin Smati as the new President and CEO and Mark Snell as vice president, project development.

Dr. Geoffrey Ballard has been selected as one of Time Magazine`s “Heroes for the Planet” for his work in promoting fuel cells.

John R. Sampson has been named American Electric Power Indiana/Michigan president, replacing Dick Boyle, who is now AEP vice president of regulatory services.

H. Peter Burg will be the new FirstEnergy Corp. CEO when Willard Holland steps down April 29.

Danny R. Keuter has been named Entergy Nuclear`s vice president of business development.

Former Gov. Zell Miller has been elected to the Georgia Power Board of Directors.

Dr. James J. Markowsky, American Electric Power executive vice president-power generation, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his role in development of clean coal technologies.

Robert E. Fishman has been named PB Power Inc. chairman and president. PB Power is the U.S.-based subsidiary of Parsons Brinckerhoff.

Howard Bruschi has been appointed Westinghouse Electric Co. vice president, chief technology officer.

Woodrow W. Crouch, New York Power Authority, has been elected to the U.S. Committee on Large Dams` Board of Directors.

Geoffrey D. Roberts has been named Entergy Power Group president and CEO.

Michael Niggli has been named Nevada Power Co. CEO, replacing Charles Lenzie, who retired.

Robert J. Chaney has been named UGI Utilities Inc. president and CEO.

Raymond W. Vickers has joined Edison Mission Energy as senior vice president and general counsel.