More Business Personnel & Staffing News

Babcock & Wilcox names Cohen VP of Government Affairs and Communications


The Babcock & Wilcox Co. named Marshall Cohen as Vice President, Government Affairs and Communications, effective October 9.

EPRI appoints Southern executive to Board of Directors


The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) announced the appointment of Mark Crosswhite, the chief operating officer of Southern Co., as a member of its Board of Directors.

Labor dispute resolved at Candu Energy


Candu Energy Inc. on Sept. 11 said it has reached collective agreements with all its workers represented by the Society of Professional Engineers & Associates (SPEA).

CPS' Beneby named Utility CEO of the Year


CPS Energy President and CEO Doyle Beneby was named 2012 Utility CEO of the Year on Sept. 11 during the Solar Electric Power Association (SEPA)’s Solar Power International in Orlando, Fla.

Reports: One wind farm can add more than 1,000 jobs, revenue for communities


A 250 MW wind farm in the U.S. creates 1,079 jobs and can add tens of millions of dollars in new taxes and other benefits to the community where it’s located.

Coal mining company names new Executive Chairman


Martinez served as the Colombian Minister of Mines and Energy from July 2006 to August 2010.

Working Safe Pays Off for Konecranes


Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC (SRNS) in Aiken, S.C., operates with a safety culture that is pervasive and all encompassing— good to know, since the Savannah River Site (SRS) houses one of the world's most diverse nuclear storage facilities.

SaskPower Uses Wireless Measurements to Improve Process Visibility at Coal-Fired Generating Station


SaskPower is publicly owned, and generates and distributes electricity to 473,000 customers in the province of Saskatchewan, Canada, with exports to adjacent provinces and North Dakota.

ConEdison appoints VP for Retail Commodity Services


ConEdison Solutions has named Richard D. Rathvon as Vice President for Retail Commodity Services. He will be based in the company’s corporate headquarters in Westchester County, N.Y. and will lead the team focused on energy supply to commercial, industrial and governmental customers.

NiSource names new executive VP, group CEO


NiSource Inc. has announced that Jim L. Stanley will join the company on Oct. 1 as executive vice president and group CEO for Northern Indiana Public Service Co. (NIPSCO), a NiSource-owned utility serving natural gas and electric customers across the northern third of Indiana.

Nuclear power plant operator names new CEO, CNO


Dennis Koehl, currently the senior vice president and chief nuclear officer of Xcel Energy, has been named the chief executive officer and chief nuclear officer of the South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Co.

Connecticut Light & Power names new president, COO


Northeast Utilities on August 27 said William P. Herdegen III has been named the new president and chief operating officer of Connecticut Light & Power.

Nuclear power industry, U.S. Navy sign workforce partnership for veterans


The nuclear energy industry and the U.S. Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program on August 22 signed an agreement establishing the first program that allows personnel leaving the Navy to transition to civilian employment.

Clipper Windpower to lay off 174 employees


Clipper Windpower, a manufacturer of wind turbines, generators and other products, will lay off 174 employees.

Peak construction almost reached at Kemper County IGCC power plant


The Kemper County integrated gasification combined-cycle (IGCC) power plant in Mississippi is nearing peak construction with less than two years before it reaches commercial operations.

SCE to cut 730 jobs at shut down nuclear power plant in California


Southern California Edison (SCE) on August 20 said it plans to downsize the staff at the two-unit, 2,200 MW San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station (SONGS) near San Clemente, Calif., to 1,500, a reduction of 730 employees.

TVA president and CEO to retire


Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) president and CEO Tom Kilgore announced he will retire by the end of 2012.

E2: More than 37,000 jobs can be created from renewable energy projects


A new report from Environmental Entrepreneurs (E2) says that as many as 37,409 jobs could be created from the more than 70 major clean energy projects announced across the U.S. during 2Q 2012.

"Sun King" Shi steps down as boss of Suntech


The founder of giant Chinese PV module maker Suntech has today stepped down as chief executive.

Vestas to lay off 20 percent of Pueblo workforce


Wind manufacturer Vestas said on Aug. 13 that it plans to lay off 20 percent of the 450 workers at a tower factory in Pueblo, Colo.